Whispersfrommyheart's Blog

Not A Victim Anymore

Posted on: September 25, 2012

Courtesy of PhotoBucket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No longer is my name to be

“Survivor” any more;

For I have long since been redeemed

My life has been restored.

 

And I no longer will be seen

As one whose grief is worn;

Like medals from a battle won

For which my heart has mourned.

 

And shame no longer has the right

To claim me as its own;

Disgrace, dishonor are replaced

With Love, He has atoned.

 

And hate no longer covers me

Within its evil shroud;

Weighing down my heart and soul

To keep my spirit bowed.

 

For when I claimed Survivorship

My heart believed the lie;

That grief and shame were evidence

Of what my past implied.

 

But Jesus came and set me free

Then showed me what was true;

“Survivor” kept me victimized

And kept my heart askew.

 

And as He taught me how to live

As one who’s overcome;

Instead of holding to the past

I now hold to the One.

2 Responses to "Not A Victim Anymore"

Very nice! Very well put and after reading your post, I’m left with one word in mind . . . liberating!

Thank you so much!
“If the Son sets you free… you are free indeed!”

Leave a Reply

