Whispersfrommyheart's Blog

I Do Not Know

Posted on: January 14, 2013

One day, while pondering why bad things happen (especially to me) this poem began to form in my mind. When I finished, I realized I didn’t have a clue, if God is so good and is as loving as the bible tells us he is, why he allows bad things to take place in our lives. But, I do know that through it all, God receives glory and somehow, in spite of the chaos, his will is done and faith is increased.

I DO NOT KNOW

 

I do not have an answer to

The questions asked of why;

Why circumstance cause hearts to break

And sorrow eyes to cry.

 

I do not know a reason for

The suffering of man;

Nor can relate how grief and pain

All fit into God’s plan.

 

I cannot fathom depths of God

I do not understand;

How tragedies merge gloriously

In triumph through His hand.

 

For reason’s that I’ve yet to know

Or fully comprehend;

Because of love He does allow

The pain where faith begins.

 

And yet through suffering we see

His mighty hand of grace;

Reflected in our character

And written on our face.

 

While human understanding fails

To give the reason why;

Each one can rest and be assured

It’s not escaped His eye.

 

Our God in His great Sovereignty

Has all things in control;

And through our faith and trust in Him

He calms our troubled soul.

 

And this is what He’s promised us

Before our trials began;

His Power is perfected in

The weaknesses of man.

Leave a Reply

