Whispersfrommyheart's Blog

The Fullness of God — What’s That?

Posted on: September 9, 2013

A Fullness of God
Ephesians 3:19
And to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
In my reading this morning, I was struck by the word, “fullness.”
What did it mean to be filled with all the fullness of God? I don’t know about you, but in my day to day life, I don’t feel full of God at all. Instead, I feel full of the things that have filled my day to day living; recently, the loss of my job, and then the loss my mother. And, if losing those two weren’t enough to think about, I added losing my car and then my house to the bank.
Yeah, I’m sure the fullness of God hasn’t filled me in a while. I’ve been filled with worry, deep sadness, and thoughts of, “What do I do”? As a born again believer, I should be filled with God’s fullness, in spite of the circumstances I have been through.
I spent a little time researching the fullness of God. I read a few posts that made sense, but nothing grabbed me and said, “a-ha” this is it! So, I did a study on Ephesians 4:19. As I go through each word I will re-write the verse as I come to understand it. I may be wrong in my interpretation, but I feel as though I have a greater understanding of this verse than when I first began.
Vs. 19:
And to know the love of Christ, which passes knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God

Ephesians 4:19 tells us that we should know the love of Christ.
The Greek word for “To know” is: ginóskó and it means: properly, to know, especially through personal experience.

In order “To Know” we have to have a personal experience with Jesus Christ; we are to come to know his love.
The next word, “passes” is the Greek word: huperballó: it means, –(transcending –goes above); excel, exceed (“be eminent – well known”)
– We come to know his love through personal experience even though his love exceeds or transcends our understanding; the way we think, or any doctrine we have known.
The Greek for knowledge is gnósis: functional (“working”) knowledge gleaned from first-hand (personal) experience, connecting theory to application; “application-knowledge,” gained in (by) a direct relationship.
The next phrase “That you may be filled” is the Greek word pléroó and it means: Christ, exalted to share in the divine administration, is said πληροῦν τά πάντα, to fill (pervade) the universe with his presence, power, activity.

– We come to know the love of Christ through a personal experience even though his love exceeds or transcends our understanding; the way we think, or any doctrine we have known with a working knowledge we have gleaned from first-hand experience in which we have connected the theory of Christ’s love to the knowledge we have gained by our direct relationship with Christ so that God fills, pervades us with his presence, power and activity.
Next, we’ll look at the word, “All.” It is the Greek word, pas and it means: “all” in the sense of “each (every) part that applies.” The emphasis of the total picture then is on “one piece at a time.”
So then, the verse would read:
– We come to know the love of Christ through a personal experience even though his love exceeds or transcends our understanding; the way we think, or any doctrine we have known, with a working knowledge we have gleaned from first-hand experience in which we have connected the theory of Christ’s love to the knowledge we have gained by our direct relationship with him. Then God fills, or pervades (permeates, saturates, infuses, encompasses) us with his presence, power and activity in every part that applies, completing the picture of us, in him, one piece at a time.
The last we will look at is, “Fullness.” It is the Greek word: pléróma which means: “sum total, fulness, even (super) abundance”
At last, the verse would read:
– We come to know the love of Christ through a personal experience even though his love exceeds or transcends our understanding; the way we think, or any doctrine we have known, with a working knowledge we have gleaned from first-hand experience in which we have connected the theory of Christ’s love to the knowledge we have gained by our direct relationship with him. Then God fills, or pervades (permeates, saturates, infuses, encompasses) us with his presence, power and activity in every part that applies, completing the picture of us, in him, one piece at a time, so that the love of Christ provides us with even a super abundance of the presence, power and activity of God in our human bodies.

Ephesians 4:19 started out as a short, to the point, verse, but as we can see this verse is packed with so much more than what we first thought.

I read an account of a bottle being thrown into the ocean. As the bottle begins to fill up with ocean water it sinks to the bottom of the ocean. The bottle is not only filled with the water of the ocean, but it is surrounded by the same thing that has filled it. I think that is a great analogy of the fullness of God. He not only fills us with his presence, power and activity but he also surrounds us with the same.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

