Whispersfrommyheart's Blog

Lest We Forget

Posted on: October 23, 2013

I’ve been in the “Law of Love: Lessons from the Pages of Deuteronomy” by Beth Moore for the past several weeks. I am amazed, after 37 years of being a Christian, God still astounds me. Last night’s lesson was no exception.

I have my moments of struggle, just like everyone else on the face of the earth. I still fight against feelings of unworthiness, poor self-esteem, and feelings of abandonment. Those who have read through my blog know I am a Childhood Sexual Assault overcomer (If you want to know why I don’t refer to myself as a Survivor, you can read this). Any time I have ever thought about the years I suffered one particular feeling stood out. Aloneness. I suffered by myself. No one helped me. No one rescued me. Not even God himself. As an adult, I know God never abandoned me. I know the scriptures tell us he will never leave us or forsake us (Deut. 31:6). I know this in my head, but apparently my heart hasn’t accepted it fully.

Last night’s study took us through Deuteronomy 8. Beth’s teaching on the whole chapter was excellent – and I do recommend, if you have not been through this study… DO! – But the very last portion of her lesson is where I want to park.

The title of this section is: How to “Take Care” (vs. 11) of Yourself, Deuteronomy-Style:
(Verse 11 states: Be careful that you do not forget the LORD your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees… (NIV))
In verse 2, it says: “Remember the whole way by which he has brought you these forty years through the desert…” (NIV)
In this verse we’re going to focus on the word “whole.”

The Israelites were told to remember the WHOLE way the LORD led them.

His leading began while they were in bondage, in Egypt. As they went out, God led them by a cloud in the daytime and a pillar of fire in the night. He showed his glory in feeding them manna, which no one had ever seen before (An interesting side note: Manna had never existed prior to this time and the Manna stopped when they entered the Promise Land. Manna means, “What is it?”), and quail in the evening. He led them 40-years through harsh and dangerous terrain. The entire time he led them he provided water in places that normally was devoid of water. God made sure their sandals did not wear out, and their clothes did not tear (wouldn’t you like to keep your favorite clothes and shoes for 40-years?) the entire time he led them. He also kept their feet from swelling. Remember, women were getting pregnant and giving birth the entire 40-years they were in the desert. I don’t know about you, but when I was pregnant, my feet, ankles and legs swelled up like balloons! But, God kept their feet from swelling (Another interesting side note: Beth explained the word used for swelling was the same word used elsewhere for dough… as in bread dough… Pillsbury Dough-boy).

40-years. That’s a long time. An entire generation of being led by God himself. Can you imagine being able to witness the Red Sea parting and walking to the other side on dry ground? Can you imagine seeing the Glory of God descend upon Mount Sinai, and then, hear the thunder roll as he spoke in an audible voice? Or, see the brightness of Moses’s face as the glory of God faded away? Do you think you would ever forget seeing the power of God in the form of a pillar of fire or a cloud? And, isn’t it interesting to imagine the cloud kept the scorching sun from burning them up, and the fire provided the light, and possibly the warmth, they needed during the night… I don’t know how cold the desert night is, but, we can imagine for a moment, can’t we? I am in awe of the daily miracles the Israelites experienced.

It’s interesting to me the Children of Israel were told to remember, and never forget, the WHOLE way. The Hebrew word for “whole,” is: kol: the whole, all. The connotation of the word is: all it’s the entire, all the everywhere, all the throughout, all your concerning everything, complete, throughout and all, throughout the whole, total, whole, all things.

It’s obvious the Israelites were to keep this journey in the forefront of their minds. They were to remember throughout the good, the bad, and the ugly (There were many diseases that broke out because of their unfaithfulness, many deaths) God still led them.

As I thought over this information a realization hit me. God led me. In the darkest, most terrifying moment of my life, God led me. As I grew, he saved me out of a life of destruction. I should always remember, and never forget!

We all should remember, and never forget to remember the whole way God has led us. Each valley we walked, every mountain we climbed, every desert we trudged through; remember, and never forget, God has led us every step of every way. And, lest we forget, we should remember, and never forget!

Verse 10, of Deuteronomy 8, reminds us, “Every single time you feel satisfied, bless the LORD your God.”

Another interesting note we all need to realize is: Throughout our difficult times – and we all have them – We may not see a pillar of fire to guide us during the darkest moments. Instead of God creating wonders as he did in the desert, the wonder is you. His miracle is you. His glory is revealed in you. As he leads you through your desert; as you come out into the Land of Promise, you are the revelation of the glory of God in a land that is good. It is good because your experiences now become productive. You begin to bear fruit.

Bless the LORD our God!

Leave a Reply

