Whispersfrommyheart's Blog

Only By The Blood

Posted on: November 22, 2015

I enter the Holy of Holies and immediately fall to my knees. There is a peaceful hush underneath the voices of singing angels. Their melody pierces my heart. “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain! Worthy is He who was, and is, and is to come!

I am surrounded by God’s glory. It radiates from the center and collides with every corner only to rebound, and fill the center again. The Creator of the Universe shines through this place; his presence, like rays of sunshine, illuminating every particle of my being. The Light of the World. His presence is palpable flowing from the throne. It is breathable. It is all power, it is holiness and all goodness.

I begin to tremble in fear. What am I doing here? Why did I come? Who am I to be in his presence?

His glory penetrates my heart and soul, and I begin to cry.

“Unworthy! Unworthy!” I hide my face. I cover my eyes with my hands. “I am not even worthy to look upon your righteousness!!” I have no excuse to tell. No reason why.   I feel so filthy kneeling there, as if every single sin shouts to God, “She is guilty! She is guilty!” I raise my voice in shameful acknowledgment. “Unworthy! Unworthy!” Fear threatens to overtake me. I should not be here in the presence of such holiness! I might die if I stay!

And yet, here I am.

I am in the presence of God, himself. The One who parted the waters of the Red Sea! The Great I AM!  His glory covering every part of my body.

As I cowered on my knees a truth entered my mind.

Jesus.

I felt the stirring in my soul. Hope began to rise. Tears flowed down my face as I looked up, toward God’s presence, and began to boldly proclaim, “Only by the blood! Only by the blood! It is only by the blood that I am worthy to be here! Only by the blood! Only by the precious blood of Jesus Christ can I enter into the presence of a Holy God!”

Truly, though my sins were like scarlet, they have been washed white as snow. Because of what Jesus Christ has done, no longer was I a sin encrusted soul, but a Bride, washed clean, dressed in bright linen, pure, and worthy to kneel before him and behold his very presence.

And Jesus cried out again with a loud voice, and yielded up His spirit. And behold, the veil of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom; and the earth shook and the rocks were split. Matthew 27:51

 

 

Leave a Reply

